Digital Forenics Computer Question

So let me premise this by saying I do not have a hard CS/IS background. I am a law student working in cybersecurity law but I am getting more into the IT side of things by working for a major research university’s CISO/Associate Legal Counsel (tech guy who got his JD) in the school’s IT dept.

One area that has always interested me is digital forensics and I have been talking to our resident tech who does it for the school. He mainly uses Cellebrite which I obviously cannot get, but he gave me the names of several free tools such as hashcat and DeSleuth kit. I am currently playing with DeSleuth kit and noticed that it just eats resources (go figure huh?).

I will probably be upgrading my cpu/mobo/ram this generation (current specs are a 11700k, strix z590-e, 32gb 3600 cl16 gskill ram, and a 3090 ftw3 ultra) so I can play with the new hardware.

For anybody with some insight into how the above mentioned programs work, what should I be looking at in terms of the new generation of hardware? My initial thoughts were to go with the 13700k, but I am not sure on how the e-cores would play with processing the information from DeSleuth kit. I’m also open to building on AM5 when it comes out. My end goal for this hobby would be the fastest processing (relative I know, but hopefully there is a sweet spot) speed without delving into enterprise hardware. I’ve got enough problems learning basic consumer products.

If you’ve made it this far, thank you! But I do have another request, if you could explain your answers so that a 12 year old would understand, that would be helpful. I.e. more cpu power because of l2 cache would reduce processing time etc. Thanks for any and all help!!!