Devember 2021 - 3D Archery counter for the PinePhone

Hi there.
This is my first time participating and there are no rules or anything up yet, so please let me know whether this idea is appropriate.

I have been doing some 3D Archery with friends recently (apparently I can’t include links, you have to find a place to read up on it yourself).

There you go through a parcours with 30 or so targets at which you shoot with a bow. Depending on where you hit the target and with which arrow you get awarded a number of points.

What I consider making is an application that makes it quick and easy to count these points on my PinePhone.

Requirements:

1. Works great on the PinePhone/SXMO/SWMO and ideally on other Linux devices.
  2. Quick to enter score for multiple participants. I want to count my friend’s score too.
  3. Easy to change parcours definition. We shoot at different ones and they change over time.
  4. Simple statistics at the end, overall score, number of misses, …
  5. Store in a simple text format to make further processing easy (and KISS).
  6. Simple textual config file for things like score definition. Things like that just shouldn’t be hardcoded.

Language: I don’t know yet. I love Lua and would like to freshen up my C or maybe C++. Depends on how I do the GUI as well.

GUI: Although the natural thing for my PinePhone with SXMO would be dmenu/bemenu I don’t think this would be a good fit for my requirements. I will have to look into one of the commonly used toolkits like Kirigami. Alternatively I could do it in the game engine Love2D which I’m familiar with.

Let me know what you think, please.

8 Likes

Check this out. It isn’t FOSS as far as I am aware but it might give you direction for features and such.

Thanks. I know there are Android apps to do this. I will have a look.

Honestly, I’m more interested in 3d archery.

You might have just introduced me to a new hobby.

Still, I’m very eager to see some pinephone development happening!