Deciding on a cooler and motherboard for new build

Hello!

I’m new here so sorry if I mess something up.

I’m a 3D artist who works in games (UE4 and Unity mostly). I use a variety of software including Blender, 3D Coat, Zbrush, Substance Painter/ Designer, Photoshop. I’m also a gamer.

I’ve recently picked up an Nvidia 3080 TI and a Ryzen 5950X. I really want to get these components to fit into a Fractal Design Meshify 2 Compact and have good airflow/ thermals. I’m sure the 3080 TI will fit but I’m concerned about the 5950X cooling solution. Does anyone have any recommendations for a good cooler that will fit? I plan on 1 m.2 drive (maybe 2), an SSD and 32 gigs of ram so the system wont be too dense.

Also, I’m thinking of getting either the GIGABYTE X570S AORUS MASTER for a mobo or the ASRock X570S PG RIPTIDE. If anyone has any opinions about these, I’d love to read them!

I don’t plan on overclocking (except maybe the PBO). My goal is a somewhat compact, well optimized, powerful system that keeps cool under load.

Thanks in advance!

Update: For the mobo, I’m considering the MSI MPG X570s Edge Max Wifi. Its cheaper and has more features I find useful.

Hi PolyFerret and welcome to the forums!

If you haven’t seen Wendell’s review on the Meshify 2 Compact I would definitely recommend checking out his video… lots of good info there. But TLDR; it’s a great case and should be quite capable of handling the thermals from both a 5950X and a 3080ti. I realized after typing most this reply that you didn’t specify whether you’re looking for a CPU air cooler or a radiator that “will fit” the case. So, here’s my air cooler recommendation :slight_smile: