Debian GRUB - Help newbie

Hi
I’m new to Linux, I’m a hard core Windows fan but I’ve decided to build my first server on Debian and I have a couple of software questions.
Spec:
CPU: i7 980 (I know it’s over kill but I’m not selling an i7 to buy an i3)
Motherboard: G1 guerrilla motherboard
RAM: 12gb @ 1600mhz
Graphics: N210
Network: Cat6 /TP Link AC1750
Storage: Samsung 840 pro, software RIAD 5 - 3x3tb ST300DM001 (Still waiting on 2 of them and new PSU)

Here’s a proof = http://i58.tinypic.com/169q6td.jpg
Forgive me for the 7 year old case

When installing Debian GRUB it said to enter network type and I selected Intel nic 10/100/1000mb but when I’m in the OS I can’t gain across to the internet. My motherboard has two LAN ports;
-Bigfoot E1200 (can’t find patch)
-Marvell 88E1118R (I was reading about a patch but that was made in 2011 :S )

The idea was to run the server on Debian GRUB then divide it into 2 VM’s;
-Media Plex movies, music etc
-Work and music - Owncloud

Will Plex and Owncloud work on Debian? It says on Plex’s site Ubuntu, Fedora, CentOS but I read

Thanks

Michael

Okay, first things first, you've got your terms mixed up (its okay, it happens, its easy to do with all the freakin acronyms). GRUB is not an OS. GRUB is a bootloader, a tiny tiny tiny piece of software that runs when you first boot the machine (right after the BIOS screen) and allows you to select what OS you wanna boot. (Basically the screen that you press "Debian GNU/Linux", yeah thats GRUB there)

Debian is the operating system; a distribution of GNU/Linux.

Now that that's out of the way, here's what I suggest.