Database choice for game server

Hello there! I’ve been building a multiplayer rts game for a few years now using C# and unity. Until now I’ve stored all the data for the server in just large lists in ram, but this is unlikely to scale well so now that I’m getting closer to an alpha I’m thinking of storing that data in a database but given that my experience from work is with Ms Sql I’m not familiar with other database technologies. not sure which direction to take, I thought I’d ask for the wisdom of the level1 forum users before I make a decision I might regret for lack of knowledge.

My only requirements are:
low latency
Able to store objects
Basic crud operations
Open source

Nothing fancy or exotic but I see so many potential options I’m not sure what to pick.

Thank you in advance for your time.

SQLite would be my first choice. It’s got a few limitations. Like only one person can write at a time (one process). Not a big deal if the game server is the one doing all the writing. It’s stored as just a file. Highly portable. Easily backed up. Open source. Used by lots of large companies. If you need to scale past that for hosting environments then you could try MSSQL.

It also doesn’t do objects very well but if you can serialize them out to json and back (should be fairly easy) the you can store the json data

For latency issues you can have it run in memory. And then write some methods to dump to disk. You would have to call that periodically. Or just work off the disk entirely but your latency then would be dependent on the disk your writing against.

1 Like

I would seccond SQLite, very handy to have everything stored in one file for moving game server files around and backing things up.
along the other things that @rockking mentioned it is a very fast and light weight database option!

1 Like

You could use large maps (tree/hash), a bit of locking.