Daily Driver + SQL OLAP Dev Build With Threadripper 3960X

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/k7kXjp

I’d like to get some thoughts from more knowledgable folks (I’m a developer). This is an expensive build. My goal is to have decent single thread speeds for daily stuff + raw horsepower for a 50GB OLAP db I’m developing.

I’ve settled on a 3960X and Gigabyte Designare. 64GB of RAM should be enough, but I’m not sure on 4x16 or 8x8 config and posted a separate question here:

The two mobo NVMe slots to the CPU will host Windows on a 1TB 970 Evo Plus and the DB log files on a 512MB 970 Pro. The AORUS Gen4 AIC Adaptor will host the DB data files on a RAID 0 with the 4x 2TB ADATA SX8200 drives.

Fast IO with sustained write speeds is really important. I’m constantly refactoring the DB, adding a column to save some computed value to a 10GB table.

I got a used Titan Xp off ebay for hardware acceleration. I’m going to play with some machine learning stuff.

The Lian Li 011D XL case - PC Part Picker is warned me that the case does not fit the XL-ATX board, but 2 out of the 3 Designare builds they have use that case. I know the XL world is non-standard, so I’m hoping its a nothing burger.

1 Like

4x memory sticks can generally faster than 8x in terms of infinity fabric so stick with 4 if you can.

You know if you really want to hedge your bets and your data isn’t super sensitive why don’t I set you up with remote access to a threadripper and something less threadrippery.

For your use case you might be surprised by how much mileage you can get out of a 3900x at 25% of the cost potentially. We could actually rest it.

Plus I wouldn’t be surprised if 3rd gen tr goes on sale soon. With 4th gen desktop ryzen looming. I bet they launch 4th gen tr around March next year +/-

1 Like

Thanks Wendell.

I can’t wait because I have 100% downtime right now. Trying to turn lemons into lemonade by throwing myself into high risk/reward project while waiting for something stable.