Copper vs Fiber Home Install

What are your thoughts of running fiber in a house?

I’ve been trying to decide what I’m gonna do when I move.

2 Likes

Personally, I would run Cat6A or higher because I would do it myself and I don’t have the tools or experience to terminate fiber. That said, if you really wanted ports everywhere in every room, maybe you’d distribute some switches throughout the house instead of having one rack in the garage/basement/attic. In that case, I’d have redundant fiber lines between the access switches and the aggregation switch, but still RJ45 for all the wall plates.

Also, of course if you want to isolate surge zones, then maybe you want some fiber.

These guys (above) are going in a rack and will be connected to a local switch via DACs.

7 Likes

I worked as a DC tech for quite a while. When my company ran the numbers it turned out it was cheaper on man hours and waste to just measure your length and buy pre made cables. I would say the real problem would be if you don’t have experience running fiber, there is a possibility you will ruin it while making the run.

5 Likes

We found the same thing. Only time I ever had a guy cleave or cut in a Cat5/6 was when we needed a custom run or a faceplate in a specific / odd location.

4 Likes

Yeah they make nice splicing tools but forced labor is too cheap.

Sgt I would stay away from fiber in the house personally, expensive adapters, cant just plug in any devices without a media converter(think work laptops). You should never really need more then copper can deliver to a desktop and your runs will be pretty short just buy good copper and you should be fine. I dont see data rates for home network stuff going past 10g for awhile and you can do w/e in the rack. (you could run 1 fiber run to your office and the rest copper to give you a nice option if you need something extra fancy at the desk)

3 Likes