Convert 16x PCI-E 5.0 Lanes to more PCI-E 4.0 Lanes? Is it possible

I’ve been a software engineer and been quite knowledgeable on the hardware side for over 20 years but I’ve never needed a complete understanding of PCI-e lanes till I got into AI and their hunger for GPU power. (LOL) So please forgive me if this question sounds crazy.

Is there any way to convert a total of 16 PCI-e 5.0 lanes to 32 total PCI-e 4.0 lanes using PCI-e switchers or something of that nature? What I’m trying to do is create an AI system with 4 GPU’s running on AMD’s X670 platform.

I would think it’s possible in some way since the max speed of PCI-e 5 is double the speed of PCI-e 4. That way these 4 GPU’s could run with 8 lanes each. I’m trying to avoid the expensive cost of thread ripper if I can since really what I am after is PCI lanes not more memory or more cores. Even a $1000 add in card would be much cheaper than getting a new threadripper system.

1 Like

It’s possible but it will most definitely cost more than just buying a WRX90/W790 system, probably more than buy the system twice over.
Also adding in PCIe switching will likely drive the need for software and driver changes because they aren’t as transparent as marketing would lead people to believe.

1 Like

Would have to crawl datasheets for Broadcom PLX-chips, gut feeling tells me while the bandwidth is there, the generation-translation from Gen 5 to Gen4 is infeasible for economic reasons.
If you “just” want PCIe-switching, Broadcom PEX88000 series exists, now you just need to either sink thousands into making your own PCB or finding a server-part that has one on it.
(just the chip is 300€/$-ish)

This.
Had interesting issues with an audio-interface card because of a PCIe to PCI interface chip. That was fun :upside_down_face: to diagnose!

1 Like

Questions like these have been around since the first PCIe 5.0-capable consumer motherboards came out. This pretty much sums it up: