Content credentials (C2PA) and privacy

I am a software developer employed by a company (Truepic) that is seeking to make media on the Internet more trustworthy. Two of my primary responsibilities are to interface with the C2PA working group and implement the specification in a closed-source library.

In a recent (January 12) news show, L1 briefly touched on C2PA technology and some valid privacy concerns that go along with that. In the comments on that video, I offered to have a dialogue on how some companies are choosing to address those concerns. I didn’t get any response, and perhaps that (YouTube comments) is not the best medium for such a discussion.

I’m opening up the topic here now, in case anyone is interested. My purpose is not to promote my company or the technology, but to:

1. Ensure that conversation on the topic is well informed.

2. Learn more about concerns from the community and perhaps brainstorm to determine if more can be done to address those concerns.

I will preface any such discussion with some caveats.
I am here without express permission from my employer, and I am not an official representative. My views do not necessarily represent the views of my employer. There are (pretty much always) things brewing in the C2PA community that I am not at liberty to disclose, and that fact might be reflected in some of my responses. Similarly, my company is constantly in discussion with multiple other companies about how content credentials can be added to their workflows. I can’t comment on any unannounced partnerships nor on the specific proprietary technologies in use.

If no one is interested in such a discourse, I am fine with that and will fade into the background again. But if you’re curious (or even if you just want to pick a fight) I’m opening the proverbial floor for discussion here.

1 Like

I think the general concern is how do we use this tech without making our current dystopia worse.