Consolidating Homelab into Threadripper Pro Workstation

Hello,

Currently, I am running a Dell R730 with dual 2680v4’s and 256GB of 2400T DDR4 RAM. The server is running Proxmox and has served me well. For my desktop, I am running a Ryzen 5900x with 64GB of RAM, along with an RTX 2070 Super for when I occasionally game.

I am a DevOps Engineer by day and practically live in an exclusively Linux environment but have recently tinkered with utilizing Hyper-V, after seeing some of Wendell’s videos on Threadripper Pro and some of the neat virtualization scenarios it can handle. Honestly, I enjoy Hyper-V more than I would have previously thought.

I have tinkered with doing this “all in one” setup in my 5900x desktop, which has more than adequate CPU power but it seems to fall short in ECC memory support (mixed bag/only UDIMM), as well as the relatively small amount of PCIe lanes that are supported by it.

The PCIe limitation is honestly the biggest factor in deterring me from going with the 5900x as my main “sworkstation”, since loading it with a 10 gig NIC, an HBA, NVMe, and my graphics card seems like it would be way too much in terms of needed lanes.

That being said, is anyone here able to speak on the topic of using Windows 10/11 Pro with Hyper-V in a Threadripper build as a sort of “all in one” machine? I’d love to throw a healthy amount of RAM in it and having the majority of my lab running on the one box, with a secondary hosting redundant DNS, etc.

Am I crazy for wanting to do this? Should I stick with having a machine dedicated to VM duties, like my R730 currently is? I’d love to hear your input

Same here. I looked at the cost of Threadrippers and found them too expensive for my mostly hobbyist usage. I evaluated the Ryzen platform very carefully if there was a way for me to have my cake and eat it, too.