Confusion about Core i3-8130U

I was browsing around looking at different laptops and comparing their CPUs and… I noticed something weird about the CPU mentioned above, the Core i3-8130U.

When I was putting that model in comparison tools like on cpu.userbenchmark.com, I noticed that it said that this is not a Coffee Lake CPU, instead it was named as Kaby Lake. And when I went to ark.intel.com, it said the same… This is the only 8th Generation Core i3 that’s not a Coffee Lake CPU! What the hell???

Does anyone know why Intel did this? Did they need to do this? Did they do something like this in the past? I’m just curious. And I’m relatively new to computer hardware, so any stories of companies doing weird things like this in the past are welcome! :wink:

As always, thanks in advance!

EDIT: I also found a few mobile CPUs like i5-8250U and i7-8550U that are in Kaby Lake R family of processors and also listed as 8th Generation. That is confusing, but a bit less than that Core i3 one. :slight_smile:

As you’ve already found out, the 8th Gen U-series chips are all Kaby Lake Refresh, excluding the SKUs with Iris Plus graphics (named as iX-8X9U), which are actually Coffee Lake, but were released later.

Without digging too deep into speculation, the release of the Kaby Lake-R chips was a bit of a kneejerk reaction to AMD getting ready to release their own quad core ULV late last year. Kaby Lake’s production yield was significantly higher than Coffee Lake at the time, so it was easier for Intel to quickly ship parts running on the older architecture, rather than wait to release their ULV quad core chips, and potentially lose market to AMD.

Edit: To add to the confusing naming scheme, Intel quietly released the i3-8121U in May, which is actually Cannon Lake.

They did it to confuse the heck out of consumers to further segment the market. It sucks, but everybody indulges in these shorts of shenanigans these days.