Completely green to ML and DL

So as the title states, im completely new to machine learning and deep learning but i understand the basic need for it especially in what im doing - recycling and disposal. However, implementing it and if what i have for ideas are even possible, i dont know.

My initial idea is to have users upload pictures of materials, to start, categorizing what the item is as best as possible, having them uploaded to my server and then my ML computer… learning, so that eventually people dont have to go through all the extra stuff - all they need to do it snap a pic and the rest is taken care of

how much is involved in something like this? is it even possible?

currently i have a workstation that i picked up dirt cheap -
CPU: tr pro 3995wx
GPU: asrock amd rx 6800xt phantom gaming (i know this is garb for ML and needs to be changed, i just dont know if to an nvidia a6000 or an amd instinct card)
MB: asus wrx80e, RAM
64gb ddr4 2666mhz (non-ecc)

I think what you’re proposing should be mostly possible, if I understand you correctly:

So, your users would take a picture of their trash, which gets uploaded to a server, which would then classify the type of trash using machine learning(what type of plastic or whatever your labels are), and that generated information would then automatically be entered into some other database or system to actually do something with the trash(pick it up or whatever).

Is that your general idea? Without going into the implementation details(you’ll still need to learn python), your rough outline would be this:

• Obtain good, clean, labeled input data. This is the most difficult step. This would probably include writing a web application to take in the initial data.
  • Train ML model on labeled input data, test predictions using different input data.