Compact cases with 4x5.25" bays (for 6x2.5" and 5x3.5" hot swap bays)

I’m looking for a compact case that I can put hot swap bays into. The goal is to have an mATX mobo with 5x3.5" and 6x2.5" hot swap bays.

To get that many hot swap bays required 4x5.25" external bays. The only cases I can find with that many bays are huge.

Closest I have found so far:

It’s so close, literally half a bay away!

Any ideas?

have you found anything else that is closer? if not? honestly, i would probably just dremel out the last half bay and send it.

1 Like

No luck so far. I keep looking on eBay for older server cases that might work, but they tend to be huge.

I was thinking of making a custom case, but I’ve never done it before. As you say, modding an existing one would probably be easier.

I was looking at those old CD duplicator tower systems. None of them at mATX or ITX, but might be hackable. Cooling tends to be very poor too.

I hope Sliger does a shorter/more compact version of their new CX4712.

1 Like

Aye, something like that would be ideal. I’ve been looking at NAS cases with some 3.5" hot swap bays and a 5.25" bay.

I suppose you could just get one with 3.5" bays and use adapters for 2.5" drives, but it won’t be so compact.

Been looking for something similar, but finding anything with 5.25" bays these days is difficult. This Silverstone case might be close, but the 4 bays aren’t contiguous and it is big enough for an ATX board (and/or rack mounting, apparently).

https://www.silverstonetek.com/en/product/info/computer-chassis/GD07/

Given that weirdness, how many bays are your adapters going to use? 1 for the 2.5" drives and 3 for the 3.5" drives, I assume?

Maybe this will do

1 Like

The problem is that you need 3x5.25" half height bays to fit a 5x3.5" hot swap bays.

So they have to be 3 together. Then you can get 6x2.5" drives in a single 5.25" bay.

So ideally you want 4x5.25" bays, with at least 3 of them in one block. Or some 3.5" bays and a single 5.25" bay.