Community Tutorials - Linux

@Wendell said in the first TekLinux video that there might be some interest in some community member based tutorials for getting started with using linux. I wanted to start a thread to discuss how we can start organizing these tutorials (videos, text, info-graphics, etc.) in a way that is organized and accessible to the community here.

In my mind it would be a good idea to have a sort of request page/thread for what you want to learn, and have others respond to those requests with a tutorial on the topic.

Now, i am by no means an expert in any way, but i would like to share some of my knowledge, as well as try and fulfill other peoples requests as a way for me to learn things i wouldn't have otherwise tried. I'm sure im not the only one here that would like to do this either, as we seem to have a fairly active linux community on the forums.

TL;DR : Propose ideas about organizing community based tutorials for doing things in linux.

6 Likes

Sounds good. I think it would be useful to add a section there with a database of software recommendations for people switching over from Windows /Mac. This list could be made by creating a poll with various sections such as Graphic Design, Video editing, Education, Office, etc.

its something that i'd really like to get started!

i see that there's a growing number of posts by members (probably due to the new channel starting up), so i think that it would be in the best interest of the many to have a central "question and answer" section to help reduce peoples efforts of multiple posts for the same question, and also see what people are asking for help with.

it would also be helpful for people like me that want to get some practice with finding answers that i might not really know yet, but could look into for those that might not have a good place to start looking.