Comments welcome - NAS for elderly users, as backup, thinking Synology so far

Hey All!

So I was at an elderly computer customer’s house recently, they have:

• 2 PC’s (in separate rooms, but now, cable networked)
  • 1 iPad
  • 1 iPhone
  • 1 Slightly smart TV
  • Around 200GB of personal data

Their current backup is Apple Cloud, iDrive on 1 PC and an external 2.5in drive that is claimed to be a local backup…but it hasn’t been tested for years.

I’ve casually mentioned that they could have a NAS. Backups would go FROM PC’s TO the NAS, just using Windows Backup for simplicity to them, in case they need to restore a file.

Now I’ve done this with another elderly user: I setup plex on their windows machine, then connect it to their smart tv. So they can watch personal home videos stored on their PC, on their TV - worked well.

Thing is, I have little knowledge of Synology, so I’d like to get one that’s up to the job - any suggestions? Transcoding shouldn’t be needed as I’m sure they’ll only watch locally and on a TV…though may be it should be considered just in case? I would prefer to use TrueNAS as I’m familiar with it, but then to keep the cost down I’d have to build one, and I can’t be arse’d. Even then it would end up way more expensive than a synology.

I thought a simple mirrored pair of drives in a box should be good enough - I might even setup backblaze on it (if that’s possible?), instead of using idrive on individual machines. 2 x 1TB should be sufficient.

Look forward to any comments!

Cheers,
Chris :slight_smile:

I like Synology. I have used them several times for clients. They are great as a plug-and-play solution for a lot of common NAS uses. Their support is also great. I just had to RMA one for a backplane defect and their support team was awesome.

The biggest advantage imo over TruNAS as a AIO solution is the surveillance station software if that is something on the horizon.

2 Likes

Didn’t know you’re doing tech support for my dad.

3 Likes