Chipset slots and Gen4 NVMe, am I really bottlenecked?

Hi,
I have a Gigabyte Aorus Master X570 v1.1 board, I’ve currently got one Gen4 drive installed in the primary slot and one Gen3 drive installed in the second slot. I was going to replace the Gen3 drive with a new Gen4, but am I going to be bandwidth limited? What about latency?

This machine does everything at the moment, gaming and heavy VM use.

Assuming that I’m running the 2.5 gig NIC and at least one 10 gig USB device, am I pushing the limits of that chipset link?

The features table shows 10g USB is available directly from the CPU, don’t know how you find out which port that is, but that would move some bandwidth off the chipset link.

What peripheral do you have that uses 10gigabits of USB bandwidth?

You have two PCIe x16 slots that are direct to the CPU and share bandwidth. If you feed your GPU with an x8 link, you could put your 2nd NVMe in the other CPU x16 slot, instead of the chipset linked slot.

Aside from synthetic benchmarks, I don’t think you would see any bottleneck in real world usage, keeping your existing configuration.

2 Likes

If you are doing large sequential transfers, then sure PCIe 3.0 is a bottleneck. But most people don’t do enough of those to care about the difference, and if they did, they’d get an enterprise SSD for consistent performance rather than burst.

The closer you get to small IO, reading writing/writing random 4K blocks, the harder a time any drive will have and even NVMe drives won’t get anywhere near bandwidth limits of PCIe 3.0.

Consider the benchmarks here: PCIe 4.0 vs. PCIe 3.0 SSDs Benchmarked | TechSpot
These aren’t great benchmarks, since they ignore steady state and are really just measuring the RAM/SLC caches on the drives, but you are not going to reach steady state performance issue with your workload anyway beyond the very rare large sequential transfers that happen to be bigger than the drive cache.