Chess Engine

Hello everyone, my goal here is to learn C++ by attempting to make a chess engine.

While I have learned the basics of Python and Java, I’m completely new to C++. I’ve been tackling the tome C++ Crash Course from No Starch Press this month and will be using what I learn to create the engine.

As I’m not sure how much time it’ll take me to complete the project I decided to break it up into smaller steps. Completing any of them by February would be a win for me.

1. Store and update piece positions based on user input.
    - This includes removing pieces if another piece lands on that spot

2. Move pieces according to the rules
    - Things like diagonals for bishops, the L shape for knights

3. Implement restrictions on movements
    - Pawns can only capture diagonally, you can’t move a piece if it puts the king in check, etc.

4. Implement some kind of gui so you can see the board

5. Create a computer opponent you can play against
    -I’d like to do something with Nueral Networks via Pytorch/TensorFlow, but thats down the road.

That’s probably the most brutal part of the project. If you’re just starting I’d probably mark that as a stretch goal.
Also I’m not sure if neural networks are needed for that, they way I’d do it is by using move sets and weighing the next move using statistical analysis(perhaps by obtaining a large enough dataset from publicly available chess servers?).
Just my 2 ¢

As it turns out I ended up pushing this project aside for awhile to focus on building a home server for the first time. I got rather lucky and got a good deal on some computer parts during the holiday. For less than $200 I picked up a Ryzen 3800XT, MSI B550M, Kracken X53, 16 GB DDR4 and a 500GB NVME.