Cheap, used high-performance 15-inch laptops

My ancient Core 2 Thinkpad finally bit the dust, and I am looking for a replacement. I have a very specific set of criteria, which is making selecting a worthy replacement difficult.

I am in the used or refurbished category, I am a computer tech so I have no problem buying used barebones machines and installing my own RAM, HDD, OS, etc. I have cheap access to Windows licenses through work so the preinstalled OS is of no concern. My absolute maximum budget is $500, but I am really trying to stay more around the $400 price range.

My required criteria is as follows -
No bigger than 15-inch form factor - weight and thickness is of no concern.
Support for at least 16GB of RAM
Decent screen, preferably at least 1600x900
True 3rd generation + quad-core i5 or i7 (or socketed CPU allowing ability to upgrade to quad-core at later date)
Decent 2GB dedicated graphics (Nvidia Quadro K2000M, K2100M, AMD 8790M, etc.)
Durable and long-lasting. Ability to take bumps and some abuse.

I use both Windows 10 Pro and Linux Mint 18. I also run virtual machines.

For a frame of reference, I have been eyeing the Lenovo ThinkPad W530, W540, and Dell Latitude E6540 on eBay. I have found some really great priced used units from reputable sellers, the only problem is that each laptop has a major problem or deficiency that is prompting me to look for other options.