Ceph storage vs. hardwere storage

I’m thinking of making a backup target for multiple people with many diferent backup jobs.

In you’re opinion what makes more sense and is easier to manage and mantain in the long term. A ceph cluster or a hardwere solution for instance premade from a vendor?

I was thinking of starting small and scailing as needed.
But I would have to learn how to manage the cluster or server in any case so it’s not like I’m an expert in eather :stuck_out_tongue:

Could you guys help me decide on a solution…
Pros and Cons or something :slight_smile:

You will need hardware for a ceph cluster. It may call itself software defined storage, but it runs on HDDs and SSDs and not out of thin air. A cluster is 3+ servers.

Your typical NAS scales well into 250+TB without any clustering needed. So most people prefer single server NAS over clustering because it’s way cheaper and way faster.

2 Likes

+1 for a single server.

Get a cheap Synology unit for replication in case the main machine dies.

2 Likes

This seems to be the big sell of Truenas Scale. You can build a single server and add more servers later to make a gluster cluster. You’d still need to configure/maintain the server manually, but it’s pretty straightforward.

2 Likes

Except clustering is still only for “early adopters”. Most of Scale is. So be careful with valuable data. Check back in 2-3 years where Scale may come close to Core levels of maturity.

Sales pitch for Scale is Truecharts catalog for point&click containers.

edit: And OP is talking about Ceph…well, Ceph is many things, but neither fast nor easy to run. But I would trust Ceph with my data while I had my troublesome and dangerous experiences with Scale and won’t touch it in the coming years. iX Systems lost a lot of trust they earned with TrueNAS Core.

4 Likes

Thanks guys that’s really informative.