Case button takes a few tries to turn on the PC

Hello. I bought a new computer recently. I have the Phanteks Enthoo Evolv and I’ve been having trouble turning it on since the beginning. It also used to turn on and off repeatedly sometimes, when I tried to turn it on. It’s a long story, but I had other problems with it and I came to the conclusion that the plug I plugged the PC in was faulty. Now I have it plugged somewhere else and it hasn’t done the turning on and off loop yet, so hopefully that doesn’t happen again. But so far the button stays the same. Since the beginning I spent almost a full minute pressing the button trying to turn it on. Now it takes less tries, like three or four, but the problem still exists. I’m worried one of the component might’ve been somewhat damaged, but I don’t really know. I’m quite new to this. Could it be the power button being faulty or is it something else?

open case, unplug power button header, bridge the contacts with a screwdriver and see if it turns on

if it comes on immediately it’s a broken switch, if not it’s probably a PSU issue

1 Like

however if it does… then the cases switch is defunct… rma the case and it should fix the issue

If it is the switch I personally wouldn’t even consider RMA’ing the whole case over it. Many times the reset switch and power switch are of the same type. You can likely just swap them around and see if that fixes the issue. It’s certainly faster and easier than dismantling your computer and waiting for a new case.

Knowing Phanteks you can just ask customer support for a replacement of the switch and they won’t even bother asking any questions. They did that for my side window.

1 Like

come to the lounge ive chosen a phanteks case hehe… also the other of the three resident mobo gurus myself, mistery and fouquin have answered you…

Well, nevermind. The problem I thought was solved is not. So I’m pretty sure it’s the PSU. F*ck.