Can't unbind 5700 XT from amdgpu - always hangs and then prevents system shutdown

Hello.

I have a newly built PC and have been working on setting up GPU passthrough for the first time - so I am a beginner. I’ve managed to get a basic passthrough setup working, by binding the guest GPU to vfio-pci on boot. Using the suspend-to-RAM trick, I am able to work around the AMD reset bug and launch the VM multiple times. So far, so good.

However, I don’t really want to have my guest GPU dedicated exclusively to the Windows guest. I want to be able to hot-swap it between the host and guest, making use of it from the host via DRI_PRIME=1. This means I need to be able to bind/unbind it to/from amdgpu. And I have been having a nightmare of a time trying to accomplish this. I can bind and unbind from vfio-pci just fine with no problems. I can bind to amdgpu just fine with no problems. But attempting to unbind from amdgpu always hangs with the command never returning, and I either get a kernel panic or just become unable to properly shut down the PC.

My system info:

• Distro: Fedora Silverblue
  • Kernel: 5.3.16-300.fc31.x86_64
  • DE: GNOME with Wayland
  • Motherboard: MSI X570 Gaming Pro Carbon
  • Host GPU: AMD Radeon RX 550
  • Guest GPU: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
  • IOMMU groups: Both GPUs, and their HDMI audio components, are all in separate IOMMU groups (i.e. four separate groups).

My current setup:

• I am using libvirt with virsh and Virtual Machine Manager.
  • I’ve followed the basic steps to set up a VM, pass through an NVMe drive, route audio to PulseAudio, use evdev passthrough for the keyboard and mouse, and am passing through my guest GPU and its HDMI audio component.
  • The guest GPU and its HDMI audio component are both using vfio-pci from boot, accomplished via kernel arguments.

What I’ve tried to get hot-swap working: