Buying a GPU these days

Is it even worth it to buy a new GPU / build a computer these days? I’ve been holding off for a couple of months now, and I still haven’t seen any dip in GPU prices. Here where I live, the cost of a GTX1080 is equals to what a GTX1080 Ti used to be, more or less $699 and the GTX1080 Ti is around $899-1000. Which is just plain retarded.

I could always just go “screw it” buy the 1080, but then I’m worried that Volta might come out shortly after and offer similar pricing or even worst that I could have bought the 1080 cheaper because of the new GPUs.

I wanna know your opinion, help a bro out.

1 Like

That is the most challenging aspect of the current hardware market: can you exercise the discretion to refuse to pay inflated prices for current-gen hardware? I would say that this question is ultimately subjective; however, you can do some quick research and develop some objective conclusions to help drive your impulse.

2 Likes

You can check Craigslist. I found a 1070ti for $300, but can’t afford it. You’ll get better deals if you live in a large area.

@QuantumDucksQuark95 I wouldn’t call it impulse, I guess its more like frustration . Been saving up for a long time and when I saved up enough funds, the GPU price hike happened. It just i’ve been waiting for a long time now. This just sucks.

@TNB I really would like to have at least a 1080, I saved up for a long time and plan to go all out, balls to the wall for this build.

If you can do without a GPU until Volta launches then I would wait.

The prices will almost definitely be inflated, but at least it will be the latest tech, and should theoretically last you longer. Like you said there is always the chance that Volta could also drive down the prices of the 1080.

I bought my 290x in the middle of a crypto mining phase, albeit it wasn’t quite as bad as it is now, but that card is, luckily, still going strong.