Building home router/modem?

Hi all,

I am interested in building my home router/modem.

I’ve got gigabit and I want to have 4+ ethernet ports, and wifi.

What sort of hardware will I need?
What software will I need?

Keep in mind that I have no idea where to start and I am completely new to anything other than building normal gaming PC’s.

pfSense is generally the goto OS for this purpose though there are a few alternatives and forks out there.

It performs well on older x86 hardware so an old spare PC might be a good option if you have one around. I used an old core2duo system for years until I built my recent one based on a Ryzen 1200, which admittedly was a bit overkill but such a system can handle multiple VPN connections at gigabit speeds without issue.

If building new, I would look for CPUs which have AES hardware encryption support. PfSense has been looking to make it a requirement for a while now (though they’ve moved it out indefinitely at the moment). I believe all Ryzen processors have this but until recently only the more expensive Intel CPU’s had it. Check Intel ARK website to find out which ones support the instruction set.

For ports, I would advise to get a couple of dual or a quad port Gbit Intel NIC, they aren’t that expensive these days.

Such a system will probably run about 60-80 watts at idle… a bit more than your typical consumer router solution but this will be a prosumer grade router you are building with very powerful features. Still something to consider. Older hardware may eat up considerably more power at idle.