Building a Threadripper 7960 based Linux workstation

Hello everyone, this is my first post here.

I’m a software engineer by profession (backend, to be specific) and most of my day is spent compiling code. I do not render videos much, but I do work with RAW image files (Rawtherapee) quite often.

I’m currently using an AMD 3950X with a B650 motherboard, and while the performance has been satisfactory, it isn’t anything to write home about. Besides, I’m having some sort of issue with the CPU/Motherboard or the PSU (the computer randomly crashes when using an application like Rawtherapee (which causes spikes)), without anything in the logs: its as if someone pulled the power chord. However, the fans keep spinning. I’ve tried swapping the RAM sticks to no avail, so I suspect the PSU (its 750W, pretty beefy for my HW).

This brings me to a convenient excuse to build a new system. And I’m finally thinking of treating myself to a 7960X.

I use NixOS as my Linux distro of choice, and the current uname output is:

Linux desk 6.1.79 #1-NixOS SMP PREEMPT_DYNAMIC Fri Feb 23 08:12:53 UTC 2024 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Since the TR seems pretty “bleeding edge” from my cursory google searches, I’d like to know how the platform is on Linux before I spend the money. Unfortunately, the TR also means that I need to buy a new case, a new PSU etc, so its pretty darn expensive.

My highest priority is a system that will help me work and be stable underneath. And if Linux is unstable on the latest TR’s, I’m also flexible to pick something else (still high end due to my performance demands, like the 7950X).

My question here is: how stable is Linux on the latest TR processor & motherboards? And which motherboards are a good fit for Linux?

I’ve been hearing that we need the latest kernels for TR processors too, is that true?

I’d mainly like to hear from people who’re using the processors on Linux and what their experience has been like so far.

Thanks!