Building a program

A few weeks ago I started learning C++ while on the job. Since then I've gotten about an hour worth of free time to learn so I've gotten nowhere so I'm taking a new approach, just learn while going.

I have a simple little program I'm wanting to make in VB, or something, that will help with my administrative roles at my current job. Instead of manually entering commands in powershell I want to have a GUI where I can select a specific command, say xcopy, enter the location of the file I want to copy, the name of the computer that I want the command ran to, and have it done like that.

My questions, is VB the best option for this? Where can I find the necessary resources to start coding something along these lines?

I have some slight experience with VB from school so I wouldn't be dropping into completely new waters.

VB only runs on windows so if thats what works best for you then go for it.

If you have to work in powershell, isn't it going to be much easier/faster/more efficient to just script the things you have to do regularly as powershell scripts instead of trying to build a GUI over it? I mean, the reason that microsoft developed powershell in the first place is because the command line is so powerful.

So in stead of trying to learn some programming language to build a GUI on top of powershell, maybe you should just get good at powershell.

1 Like

The idea is to have a goal based objective to have a functional program I can utilize to use it as a guide on learning programming to a small extent. Yeah, you're correct, but I feel like this would be the easier method for me to learn how to program.

Ok, fair enough :). It's really good by the way that you really have an idea of what you could use programming for. There's a lot of people that want to learn programming just because why not. You know, make games or something. I always imagine them dropping the idea after 2 weeks.

So in defence of learning powershell, I have a few arguments: