Building a NAS Cluster

First things first I already have a NAS that runs Unraid and hosts my plex server and multiple users for document storage.

I’m looking to use an Epyc Cpu to build a system that is mainly for VM’s that are rendering machines, but I would like it to take over as the main NAS, and the existing one I have to become a backup that only needs to be turned on every few weeks as its pretty rubbish. I would like advise on how to build a cluster that can also be access over the internet if i need to work offsite.

I’m a noob so please be gentle :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi, can you describe what you mean by the word “Cluster” in this context?

Typically it seems a cluster of computers are several real or virtual machines, networked together to share resources, or to split a task up into smaller chunks for parallel operations, or for fail over/ high availability.

Do you mean a cluster of VM’s to render in parallel? Or are you looking to have several epycs with a vm on each?

Would this be better than one larger VM doing the same work?

Do all the machines need to be accessible to the internet, or might a single host/management system be more useful remotely?

Because it looks less of a cluster, and more of just a remote machine that you want to feed work to from several remote places?

I work in construction so I work on CAD software mostly but I render models and designs too but it means my pc can’t be used when rendering.