Building a beginner-level ZFS pool - any advice?

TL;DR: What HDDs do I buy for ZFS pool?

Hi all!

I am not a beginner to Linux, but I am a beginner to self-hosting, and I fell down the rabbit hole quite a bit, to be honest :smiley:

My current setup is as follows:

• Dell Optiplex 7050 micro (16GB DDR4, 500GB NVMe)
  • 4TB WD Red (connected via USB to the Optiplex)
  • Proxmox on the host, VMs inside

The future plan is to implement a ZFS pool for the NAS, since the single 4TB drive holds a bunch of data I wouldnā€™t want to lose. My idea is to get some dock for multiple HDDs (like the Orico Honeycomb or similar multi-HDD dock), and populate it with a couple of hard drives.

My question is this: If I buy 3 HDDs now of a certain size, can the ZFS pool then be extended with more HDDs of different sizes? Do I have to migrate my complete ZFS pool later if I replace all the drives with drives of a different size?

Thanks!

You may find this article from Klara systems helpful. I personally found I was able to use ZFS with a great deal more confidence after reading zfs mastery.

Each pool can be comprised of any number of vdevs; their topology and size donā€™t have to match. Each vdev is responsible for its own redundancy, and each disk in the vdev must store the same amount of data. Note that this means that you can have mixed size drives in a vdev but you can only use the capacity of the smallest drive. In my case I have a mirror of two drives: one with 3TB and the other with 4TB, so the vdev is 3TB in size.

To answer your question, say you build a pool with a raidz1 vdev from your drives. You can add a vdev of mirrored drives (two) later to increase the storage space of the pool. You could add another raidz1 vdev with larger (or smaller) disk sizes.