Build a Ryzen computer that has apple thunderbolt display support, on linux

Hello Everyone. I’m very new to using forums but I’m an electronics embedded software engineer so very technical in my job but I need to replace my mini mac 2011 which died last week and I’m not buying another mac. I must however be able to use the Apple Thunderbolt display as it is brill in my view. So I looked at the ASRock Creator which seems to have the display port input that goes to the thunderbolt output. This all looks great but does it work on Linux? So has anyone done this at all or have any other options where I can still use my Thunderbolt 2 Display?

I had a tb2 macbook display for a while that I wish I still had. I just plugged it in to my box and it worked.

I’ve used the 2011 display with my razor blade stealth 2017 had to use the tb3-2 apple adapter worked just fine under deepin Linux, Debian, void, Ubuntu and fedora

It’s worked with my mbp 2012 with Linux installed

There is some fuckery to be don’t to get brightness and sound settings to work but picture , camera , microphone , usb, eth and fw #justswork

Though getting those settings to work is really simple under Debian likes but harder under fedora and void

Only issue I’ve seen with am4 is that with the under Linux you might hit non hotplug issues

Also @wendell has done a lot with thunderbolt I would recommend checking some of those videos and posts out helped me figure out thunderbolt audio issues

Hi thanks for the quick reply chaps. There are so many options out there its difficult to know where to start. I’ll have a look at the “razor blade stealth 2017”. Aremis what motherboard did you use?

Rod