Blender Rendering Workstation

I’m working on putting together a new workstation for a Blender artist at the studio I work for. The current PC has: 5950X, 96GB RAM and 2x3090FE. The budget is roughly $10K CAD, but willing to stretch it if needed.

For the next PC, I’m looking to do dual 4090, and possibly 3 of them if there’s a way to fit them. I’ve been asking around and on Reddit and have come up with this initial list:

• CPU: AMD​ Threadrip​per 7960X
  • Cooler: Noctua NH-U14S
  • Mobo: Asus Pro WS TRX​50-SAGE WI​FI
  • RAM: 128GB GSKILL Zeta R5 Neo 128GB
  • SSD: 2 x 2TB 980 Pro, 1 x 4TB 990 Pro
  • GPU: 2 x 4090 FE (open to change)
  • Case: Phanteks Enthoo Pro 2 Server
  • PSU: SeaSonic PRIME PX-1600 ATX

I’m completely new to workstation and server grade hardware, so I’d like to get another set of eyes to see if I’m making the right deicisions parts-wise. Also some questions:

• Would if be possible to fit a third 4090 card in here without resorting to a custom water cooling loop? Possibly using AIO?
  • If not, am I better off going with an i9 or 7950X? Do those chips have the bandwidth to handle two of these cards. Seemed to be no issue with the 5950X and 3090s. How does the Threadripper compare to a 7970x or i9 in terms of single-core performance?
  • Is a 1600W PSU enough to power both cards and the Threadripper? If I add a 3rd 4090, will I need an additional PSU and how would I go by setting that up in a build?
1 Like

You might want to search up that proposed motherboard on this forum before buying it…

1 Like
1 Like

Could you be more specific? Mainly just seeing issues with Linux, I plan to run Windows exclusively on this.

1 Like

Aren’t all the new TR issues more a WRX90 problem than an ASUS problem? I assume there’s a reason Asrock has basically unlaunched their WRX90 motherboard.

1 Like

I mistook T for W. You can probably ignore me altogether. My apologies!

1 Like