Black Screen After Linux Distro Upgrade... 🤦‍♂️ How To Fix This? 🤔

Okay, normally I don’t do this very often, but this is clearly an exception…

So, I had originally posted about this just this morning on the Zorin OS forum, & only one person replied probably thinking I could handle this on my own, but that’s NOT the case! >:( I had *very clearly * stated in some other posts I made there before that I don’t daily drive Linux since I’m a newb! [Man, times like these makes me really freaking wish people would read things through all the way rather than posting a quick reply & that’s it! :man_facepalming:]

Anyway, for anyone who is able to help me out with this, the full details can be found in the original post linked here: Stuck On Black Screen During Upgrade From Ubuntu 20.04 To 22.04... 🤦‍♂️ How Do I Fix This? - #3 by Jennings92 - General Help - Zorin Forum

If any of you need more details or wish to ask me anything, have at it & I’ll be sure to reply! :+1:

Thanks in advance!

what GPU?

Can you hit CTRL+ALT+F2 and open a new terminal?

3 Likes

I had stated in the Zorin OS forum post that the Dell Inspiron 3647 she has doesn’t HAVE a GPU. Please, like I stated earlier- if you’re going to help someone out, at least read the post all the way through & be thorough!

except an inspiron can be configured 100 different ways from dell. They are not all identical.

Also, every computer has a GPU of some type in it, given your saying there is not a discrete GPU then are we to assume its an integrated IGP on an Intel CPU?

Also, check your tone, I ask a specific question that could not be found from the “whole” post. If the info I needed had been included I would not have asked.

2 Likes

Wrong attitude. You’ve just scoffed pretty much anyone trying to help.

Good luck!

3 Likes

Look, that wasn’t actually my intention; I’m just a bit stressed about this. Go easy on me, okay? -_-