Between the iPod Classic and me: Searching for the ultimate music player

To my point of view, Apple did something right. Woah, I'm sure I'm breaking rules here by saying that but yep, I've been using Apple mp3 players forever. My first iPod was the iPod Nano 2G years years YEEEARS ago. I still have it laying around somewhere in my room, but that thing is old, I remember that I bought it when I was in middle school so yeah, old as balls. After that, I started lusting for an iPod Classic but the price was really out of range for me. So instead, I got a second iPod Nano, this time the 3G which worked fantastic but the design was really really awful...

Let's move a few years in time, in highschool a guy from my class aproached me once and told me he had an iPod Touch 64GBs, he knew I was really into music and he sold me his iPod Touch 4G for dirty cheap. And that's what I've been using for almost 5 years now... But I really don't like the iPod Touch, feels way too much like an iPhone and I've always been a fan of the wheel design.

A couple days ago, something came to me like a miracle: you can buy iPod Classics for cheap and mod them! After an afternoon of researching I found a guy that makes PCB boards that are capable of holding from one to two or four SD cards, as well as M.2 drives and you can connect them to the motherboard of the iPod just like the old HDDs. After a small research on local craiglists here in Spain, I came across with a broken iPod Classic 5th gen 30GBs, in black, just like the one I used to want many many years ago.

I guess I'll post here my process of modding it, nothing too serious (you can find all the info online) and it's not really hard, but I want to write this thread anyway for the personal achievement of finding the perfect MP3 player. I don't want Internet connection, nor the capability of playing videos or showing photos.