Best way to learn web development?

I want to start doing web development, I have dabbled with C using arduino, and python but I want to actually do some web development for jobs and to learn more about programming.
I want to do server side mostly but I need to learn front end as well I have been told to make life easier if I ever get asked to do front end stuff.
I know basic HTML from college, I never got CSS (I didn't really go too deep with them in college) and I have never done PHP/JS/Rails etc.
So my dad got me a subscription to Coder Manual via one of them discount sites and I was following that, but what over ways could I learn to help in addition to Coder Manual.
More for portfolio stuff and practice and hopefully so the info sticks in my head.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

I've been working in Web Development for nearly 3 years now at a London based web development company primarily on the server side and I use a really wide variety of languages and tools (C#,nHibernate,HTML,CSS,JS,JQuery, PHP, AJAX, SQL, MYSQL). You are going to want to learn HTML and CSS. It's unlikely in my experience that all you will do is pure backend coding. I think it will depend largely on the company you end up working at uses. There seems to be a huge push lately into JavaScript(ember,backbone,nodejs etc), I personally haven't looked much into these as my company doesn't use them.

I think web development seems to be in a weird place at the moment where you kind of have to know a bit about everything.

I've used Lynda.com frequently in the past and it has really helped me.

So would something like this also help with the coder manual
https://stacksocial.com/sales/python-programming-for-beginners

CSS CSS and more CSS
It's been the standard for Web design since I was in high school and still is so that says something.