Best place to hire programmers for small project

I have a few ideas for some PI based projects. I'm looking for a site to hire a freelance programmer.

I am learning to code atm, however for these projects I would like to see how much it would cast to hire a programmer to the code work for me. Does anyone have good reputable sites to hire someone?

Also, if say I wanted to sell or distribute the code after, is there some tips on making that clear or some things I should look/ask for as not to be ripped off? I have never done this before so any help is appreciated.

Hi, Just my 2 cents but i do freelance work on People per Hour sometimes - perhaps that's an option to look into? Regarding redistributing / selling the finished product on after, but keeping the code - I know i use certain PHP programs that have been encrypted so perhaps there is that option for you too depending on the language used and type of program(s) you are wanting designed.

I'll look into that thanks!

Its nothing big, but I think there is a market for what I am planing. may end up doing it myself with trial and error lol

I am working on a project right now which i am looking to post help for on here soon (maybe... 2 days stuck on a JS problem!). I have learnt so much on the way which is awesome, but obviously for production environment it must preform (and be security tight).
What i am looking into also is getting to a point where i can pass it off to someone more advanced than me so they can point out my pitfalls but my budget is pretty much non-existent which is why i'd like to do as much as i can myself !!! Luckily the community on level1techs is bloody excellent and i find people are willing to help or at least point you in the right direction to advance yourself which is amazing. Good luck my friend :-)

elance?

some things I should look/ask for as not to be ripped off?