Best Linux experience on a laptop notorius for poor linux support?

Well, I done messed up.

Just bought an Acer laptop (as my desktop replacement). It runs a 3070Ti (@150W) + an i7 12700H (with completely upgradable RAM)- and I believe it’s the cheapest laptop with those specs to do so, atleast from where I’m from.

Problem: I forgot to do my research and apparently most Acer laptops have abysmal Linux support. And I’m not even going to try installing a distro bare metal because I’m not sure if there’s a second M.2 slot in the laptop for me to dual boot off of, so my options (to have a decent Linux experience) are down to using WSL2 or Virtualbox/VMWare Workstation Player.

Tried WSL2 (Ubuntu) and right off the bat I’ve run into issues (with WSL2 not having systemd and also misc. flatpak issues) that I have no idea how to deal with. Been using Fedora for a couple of years now but I suppose I’m still an amateur who can only follow instructions for anything complicated.

Is KVM nested virtualization my best bet for getting a decent Linux desktop experience given all my caveats?

I tried installing Kali on WSL and it borked and didn’t want to cooperate, then I just got VMWare and did it that way. Works like a charm.

What’s the GPU acceleration situation really like? I’m not looking to do anything graphically intensive, but I’ve gotten used to the smooth animations that Gnome 42 has to offer on Fedora (now that Nvidia drivers are playing nicely with Wayland).

Can’t help you there, bud. All I use it for is learning stuff in mostly cli. I have no idea of more advanced features and gpu thingies.

I really don’t see how this laptop doesn’t have decent Linux support and all honesty if it’s just a matter of you not being able to disable secure boot which is what I’m seeing in Google then just install Fedora 36 and use the RPM fusion not negativo repos for Nvidia. This will automatically sign the Nvidia driver so they can be loaded by the EFI and you won’t have any issues