Best linux distro for gaming in 2024?

best linux distro for gaming in 2024?
Hi im new to Linux and want to try gaming on Linux.
I have been on PC since before windows. so I kind of remember command line and DOS from back in the day.
does steam OS work with PC? I hear some say yes but it is buggy, and some say no.
last topic I saw similar to this was from 2020 and a lot has changed since the deck came out.
thanks in advance for any help :slight_smile:

It largely depends on what GPU you have.

Pop_OS! and Nobara has excellent gaming performance, sometimes even better than Windows in a some cases. They are forks/derivatives of Ubuntu and Fedora, respectively. Personally, I like Ubuntu and Fedora more for your sanity because it breaks less and you spend time tinkering with it less and more time gaming.

The old Steam OS (the Debian based one) is still officially available but do take note that Valve will take your support request on Ubuntu because it is their only supported distro in Linux. The new HoloOS (Arch based) that is on the Steam Decks are still not available for general use. There is a fork of it that you can install but IIRC, it only supports AMD/Radeon graphics at this time because it is what the Steam Deck is using. Because Nvidia isn’t really so friendly with open source and would like to keep their secret sauce remain secret that makes their GPUs so good. AMD is more helpful in the open source scene.

2 Likes

I’d say Debian (Testing).

Hits the sweet spot of just enough bleeding edge and stability a la gaming.

That said, you will still have to tweak a few things.

If you’d prefer a more out of the box experience then Nobara is probably your go to.

2 Likes

The official steam os hasn’t been upgraded past version 2. The latest version of steam os on the steam deck is version 3. And they switched from debian based to arch based between 2 and 3. You can try the unofficial steam deck os for pc called holo os, but use at your own risk.