Audio Production PC

Hello guys,. I'm new to building computers but have a general knowledge of how they operate and function. My question is where do I start in building a audio production PC? I've heard random things from musicians but I hardly think that they are a reliable source for this type of information being that I am a musician we're not the smartest people on earth. lol. that being said, I've heard that you need a good amount of RAM in order to run the programs and apps associated with working in digital audio workstations. Is it a good idea to start of a build with choosing RAM? I woul;d think 32 GB would be sufficient for my use, but I am not sure. Or should I choose a motherboard thats compatible with the amount of RAM i plan of using?

Any help you guys can give me would be graet. I am looking to spend around 1200 dollars US on this build and do not need a monitor, or keyboard or mouse. but i would need an os, and the capability to use a firewire 400 audio interface. thanks

I think when it comes to audio production. Essentially any computer can do it.

The only thing you need computer wise would be a high quality sound card with lots of shielding to block interference.

Most of what is needed that is expensive is outside the machine , mixers , audio monitors , mics , headphones , receivers , ect...

Universal answer for the "I need an XYZ PC!" question: Depends on the programs you are going to use and how large your projects are going to be.

1 Like

or a mobo with decent sound like an ASUS Deluxe board
EDIT: or a DAC

Going to be a devils advocate and recommend a 5820k with the Asus WS... and a low latency Linux kernel. I can nearly garuntee it will make a huge difference then something like an i5 with just any Z97 board...

That'd work... but more threads do actually help a ton with audio production as does RAM. It depends on the project.

Maybe this for a novice?

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/HzZ9D3

And this for a pro: