Asus R9 290 Direct CUII OC Benchmark and Review

FIRST, a story…

Last weekend a friend of mine runs up to me at work and says “you need to sell your video cards”. I was perplexed to say the least. I bought 2 XFX 7970’s just over a year ago, how could it be worth selling them? Well, with the surge in crypto-coins, my 2 7970’s that I paid about $680 for were now worth $700+! Long story short, I sold them swiftly on Craigslist and am now the owner of an Asus R9 290 Direct CU II OC (with brand new 3 year warranty as well).

Specs:

PRICE: $539.99 CAD

•  Core Clock - 1000mhz
  • Stream Processors - 2560
  • 4GB GDDR5 @ 5,040Mhz, 512-bit memory interface
  • Memory Bandwidth - 322.56GB/s
If you’d like to see the rest of what’s in my build click HERE.

Overclocking:

I’ll be the first to admit that I am NO PRO when it comes to overclocking GPU’s or CPU’s. To start off with this card I went here: http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/asus_radeon_r9_290_directcuii_oc_review,1.html

Hilbert Hagerdoorn at Guru3D got a “max stable overclock” of 1165 core and 5500 memory with +100mv. Another LONG story short and I’ve found my max stable overclock to be 1140 core and 5500 memory with +125mv with max temps of 78C. I say “max” because my chip seemed to hit a voltage wall at 1140mhz and I need to push 1.39+ on the core to get to 1150 and beyond, pushing my thermals up to 86-87C. Let me be clear though, never once in my testing did the card exceed 87C, even with 1.412v on the core.

Gameplay:

(All games benchmarked in 1080p, all graphic options turned up to MAX, EXCEPT for motion blur, I HATE IT!)

Gaming temps maxed out 75-78C.

• Far Cry 3: Min - 38fps, Max - 70fps

• Borderlands 2: Min - 118fps, Max - 150fps

• Crysis 3: Min - 30fps, Max - 66fps

• Battlefield 4 - Golmud Railway, Operation Lockers, Guilin Peaks: Mantle: Min - 75fps, Max - 160fps & DX11: Min - 65fps, Max - 130fps   

In-Game Benchmark:

Tomb Raider: TressFx ON: Min - 68.0fps, Max - 114.0fps, Avg - 88.7fps