ASUS Pro WS WRX90E-SAGE SE - discrete sensor states showing "failed" or "N/A" in IPMI

Are any of you guys having issues with the IPMI sensors on your ASUS Pro WS WRX90E-SAGE SE motherboards? I have 14 years of experience with Supermicro’s IPMI implementation, but this is the first time I’ve used ASUS’s IPMI offering. I’m trying to see if my experiences with the WRX90E-SAGE SE is par for the course with ASUS or indicative of a firmware/hardware bug.

Issue
When I log into ASUS’s IPMI and then go to “Sensor” on the left hand navigation pane, I get a list of 9 “Discrete Sensor States”, all but 1 of which are identified as N/A or failed:

Sensor Name State
BIOS OOB N/A
CPU_ECC Presence Detected
CPU_Hardware N/A
Mem_Hardware N/A
Memory_Train_ERR N/A
PCIE_Hardware N/A
PSU1 Detect Power Supply Failure Detected
PSU2 Detect Power Supply Failure Detected
Watchdog2 N/A

While it’s encouraging to see that the motherboard detects that I’m using a CPU that supports ECC, I find it concerning that everything else is listed as N/A or failed.

Does anyone know how I can get these sensors to correctly detect/read hardware states? For example, why is my “PSU1 Detect” sensor stating “Power Supply Failure Detected”?

When I click on that reading, I get:

PSU1 Detect Sensor Information
Sensor State Reading - 0x8002

What are you guys seeing?

Hardware
Motherboard: ASUS Pro WS WRX90E-SAGE SE
CPU: AMD Ryzen Threadripper PRO 7965WX
RAM: Kingston Fury DDR5 6000 MT/s CL32 1.35V RDIMM (8x32GB, 256GB - KF560R32RBK8-256)
PSU: Seasonic Vertex PX-1200

Your results are normal. N/A is good because it means there’s no asserted error.

If you want your PSU to be detected you’ll need to use one with a pmbus connection. I think that new fanless cooler master PSU they just released has that connection.

Thanks for the confirmation twin_savage.