ASUS Pro WS WRX80E-SAGE - Endless Woes!

Hey guys, sorry for the long post but I need someone to talk to about this!

I’ve been running the ASUS Pro WS WRX80E-SAGE motherboard for 2 years and have had to RMA it on 3 separate incidents. This most recent incident has resulted in 3 ‘dead’ motherboards within a couple of weeks. I have been without my main workstation for almost a month. I was hoping to seek some council to see if what is happening is strictly due to user error or product design error.

Winding the clock back to when this issue started: I had bought a new NVME drive to store camera rushes for a film I was about to commence work on. I figured that I could populate the last free m.2 slot on the motherboard so I plug it in. Without any fanfare, the machine starts booting to this screen:

I could not proceed from here. No F1 to proceed to bios settings. The error regarding PCIe power was confusing as the power was plugged in and previously working fine for months.

I tried clearing CMOS, or accessing the mobo via BCM with no luck. Thinking the new drive might be a dud, I test it in some other systems and its totally fine. works great so no apparent problem there. Removed all other PCIe devices, swapped power supply, even swapped power supply cables. Nothing helped.

So I RMA the motherboard and in about a week I get my machine back working with a new board.

I set everything up again how I like it. I didn’t add the 3rd drive that killed the machine the first time back in because I was superstitious . Everything seemed stable though so after a day, I work the courage up to add it back.

Boom-- same problem. Motherboard appears to be bricked again with the same error screen.