Are AMD drivers that bad?

I want to start using Linux to learn more about how OS works and maybe move to Linux as a primary system.
However I'd like to play some games such as CS:GO, Dota 2, HL2, L4D2, ARK, Hotline Miami and POSTAL 2.
I've heard many things about AMD drivers working like crap and people avoiding AMD when using Linux. When I read about this whole thing I was literally hating myself for choosing R9 270X instead of 760. But I saw that AMD has been improving performance a lot recently and making new drivers called AMDGPU. Should I wait before they make these drivers to make my experience more enjoyable?

P.S. Want to go with Ubuntu Gnome 15.10.
P.S.S. Specs:
Intel Core i5 3450
GIGABYTE GA-Z77N-WIFI
8GB DDR3
MSI Radeon R9 270X GAMING 2G
120GB SSD + 1TB HDD
P.S.S. Sorry for being total noob :/

not anymore. I wouldn't worry about what others say and make an opinion for yourself. the grand majority is usually the result of a stupid hive mind

I found performance was not on par with Windows, but this varies between models, driver type, kernel version and game. I think you'll be fine with that card and the games you want to play.

Thanks for reply! I'm going to try to install Ubuntu now, thanks!

Phronix has ALLOT of benchmarks on just Linux. AMD is getting better.
CSGO runs great on Mint and your system blows mine out of the water so you should be fine.
A10-7850k barefoot and stock:)

No, AMD drivers work the best on linux, far, far better than NVIDIA's. The open source drivers for your card are in great shape, probably on par with the proprietary drivers for CS:GO if you use the newest kernel (and not the antiquated year old, four-releases-behind kernel and display stack that mint uses).