Any Risk of SED not using encryption

Hi,
Looking for some advice. I was going to buy a bunch of Seagate SED drives for an old, updated Supermicro 4U for backup and cold storage. I have no real experience with these SED’s (self encrypting drives) and don’t want to bother setting up keys and enabling the encryption.

My question is, is there a risk of not keying them? I was thinking about a hack where a hacker could remote-in and hack my system by keying-up my drives “on me” and thus locking the drives up so I can’t access them, and thereby ransoming me?

Is this a legitimate worry or not based on how this works?

If it matters, 24 slots on a LSI controller onto a 24U SAS backplane.

1 Like

not sure of the cost of SED drives vs non, but to change the keys, any attacker would basically need enough permissions to format / clear the drives anyway, so backup would be more pressing, rather than deepening the encryption.

But, backup should be planned for anyway, so random ransomware should be less of a concern anyway…

Not saying Don’t FDE, just don’t rely on it to restrict the damage done by evil actor on a system.

FDE / SED can reduce the chances of a physical drive pull / swap to steal data

[EDIT] if you don’t use the encryption, or even if you do, a root level attacker can change / remove / install keys. but could also format non SED drives. One can do FDE on non SED drive too.

So, I’d say, Don’t worry, do make backups, and do enable the SED function…

2 Likes

So let me get this straight, the encryption process on a SED by setting an encryption key, will first erase all data before getting encrypted? Meaning they can’t encrypt my drives with data already on them, thus locking up my stored data on me, because it would erase all of it anyway in the process?

1 Like

I apologize; the drives are always encrypted, and changing, (or setting) a key, will destroy the old (blank by default) key, rendering all data… effectively random/gone.