AMD VS INTEL Decisions Decisions....Help me with a new Laptop for 2020

Hello all, I need some advice to help finalize my new laptop decisions.

I am a Data science student, soo most of my working data will be stored elsewhere, and any intensive neural net training will most likely be done on a supercomputer/ gpu machine.

However I would like to have a substantial amount of power at my disposal, so ram and processor speed are important, and an onboard gpu wouldn’t hurt my feelings.

I’m would prefer something 15" or 16". And I plan to be running linux although I am no expert and it’s only my second linux machine so something that is fairly painless to make the switch with… without a bunch of useless "gimmick " options that will break would be nice.

I was all set to buy a system76 machine orrr maybe a purism aaannnd then CES20 happened and AMD make me take a double then a triple take… the ryzen 4000 lineup especially the 4800H have caught my eye in a big way and now I just cant decide.

Do I go with one of the much pricier Intel baised custom laptops ( system76,purism)…do I wait a few months and try one of the new AMD machines that offer better performance for almost half the price but aren’t built on an linux distro…or do I go with a tried and true machine that offers plenty of support converting to linux such as dell xps, Lenovo thinkpad or something of that nature.

I have set my budget at $1600. Maybe $2000 if it’s something that just cant be passed up…oh and No Apple.

So I guess any opinions on best quality/hardware for the money, ease of use with linux and adaptability, any hope to amd walking into the mobile cpu game the way they have in desktop game? Less vulnerable then intel chips? HELP Level1

Yeah, that’s a badass chip, but don’t expect it for a few months in premium systems.

Yeah, you’re going to be hard pressed to get something with a 4800H and cuda cores for less than $1800, but it’s definitely possible.