Advice needed on picking a TV tuner card for server in Ireland/UK/Europe

So we are going to be getting a free to air ariel and satellite which I am looking to connect both to my Plex server. I’ve never done this before so I am hoping if anyone has any advice.

Any recommendations on if I should be looking at a PCI card or an external box?

Are there any issues with connecting 2 Coaxial cables into one card/box?

Any recommendations for brands that work well in Ireland/UK?

Anything else I should be aware of?

Any advice on any or all of the above would be greatly appreciated. I know Ireland is a small market so not expecting any specifics, but I can hope! :rofl: Although even any general advice would be greatly appreciated

1 Like

This should do it https://www.amazon.co.uk/TBS-TBS-6902-DVB-S2-satellite-reception-red/dp/B01BN5A2LC/ref=mp_s_a_1_11?dchild=1&keywords=TV+Tuner+Card&qid=1614476346&sr=8-11# has two coax for you also.

These things are pretty self explanatory. Make sure you pay your tv licence mind :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

:rofl: :rofl: It will be the first time in almost 20 years but the wife wants to watch a bit or normal TV as we are locked down for god knows how long more so seeing as I’ll actually be using it I’ll pay for it :laughing:

Brace yourself for ad-apocolipto4000 my work colleauge had free view on the other day and I started stabbing at my own neck with the business end of a biro :slight_smile: .

1 Like

Yea, I hate ads on TV but I watch the NFL so I’ve been exposed to US ads on TV :face_vomiting:
Apparently Plex can remove most ads :crossed_fingers:

From using a few TV tuner solutions over the years, in the post-Win10 era of no media center you’ll have to either use an OEMs clunky tuner/time-shift application or use a 3rd party media playback with tuner support such as Plex.