Advice\Inspiration For Starting Your Home Network Project and Giving Back

This past weekend, I finally took the plunge and deployed a new home network using pfSense. The purpose of this post is to share my experience, lessons learned, and perhaps inspire others to tackle a home networking project. Additionally, others might look at my setup and hone it, critique it, or modify it, thereby making it better for the next person. I would also like to share helpful resources that made the project possible. For context, I am not a network engineer, just a person who tinkers and ingests content.

Project Goals

• Network Segmentation using vlans\subnetting
  • Self Managed Devices\Services
  • Moderate Costs

Equipment

Once I assembled the CWWK Mini PC (which was very easy), I installed pfSense. The installation was lightning quick, taking under five minutes. I connected my PC through the switch to pfSense and accessed the web GUI. I used a ton of guides, mostly by Tom from Lawrence Systems. Tom and Wendell are responsible for creating some of the best content out there. Here are some of the most useful guides I used for the project. Using the guides, I ended up completing the following, keeping in mind, I am no expert - You can do this!

• Configured vlans (Primary, IoT, Guest Wireless, Services)
  • Set up Firewall rules to prevent the aforementioned networks from talking to each other
  • Installed and configured PFBlocker
  • Configured Acme for automatic certificate renewal
  • Configured HAProxy and put the webguis for my switch and WAP behind it. It allowed me to use an SSL certificate to eliminate browser errors when managing my devices
  • Installed ntopng to examine and monitor network traffic

The following resources made all of this possible. Wendel’s videos nudged me to check out EnGenius and inspired me to tackle some home projects.

Lessons Learned