Adventures in coding using AI

Disclaimer:

1. This is just for fun. Not looking to do any serious coding/development work.

2. There are probably a LOT better models/methods out there (cf. EvalPlus Leaderboard), but I am just trying this out for the first time, over the last two weeks or so.

3. I am NOT a programmer by trade nor training. I don’t really understand code per se, and as a mechanical engineer, I’m used to people explaining what each part in a line is or does (the way that formulas/equations are taught) which, in my experience, programming isn’t taught like that.

With that out of the way – it’s been a fun week/maybe two weeks where I am playing with AI.

I started off with text-geneartion-webui (GitHub - oobabooga/text-generation-webui: A Gradio web UI for Large Language Models. Supports transformers, GPTQ, AWQ, EXL2, llama.cpp (GGUF), Llama models.) and TheBloke’s Mistral AI Mixtral-8x7B-Instruct-v0.1-GGUF (TheBloke/Mixtral-8x7B-Instruct-v0.1-GGUF · Hugging Face) where I was asking it some basic questions and also showing tiny human #1 about why AI can’t be relied upon because it can give wrong answers.

But as I started playing with it more and more, I made it to a 2-parameter regression analysis (where I later learned about a concept that Shih-Wen Chen and Hsien-Jung Hsu called “numerical hallucination” in regards to the lack of precision and accuracy when it comes to LLMs doing math (even just basic arithmetic).

Then I moved on to getting it to write a MATLAB script to approximate pi using the Gregory-Leibniz series where pi = 4*atan(1). (I actually purposely originally entered it as pi = 4/atan(1) to see if it would catch my error. It did.)