A QT Transcription Audio Player

So far, i’ve been missing this app specifically and couldn’t dig something up. I’m a guitarist and learning songs by ear needs some specialized tools. Mainly a player that can play 1 song, change tempo and/or pitch quickly and often and allow for flexible infinite repeat of selected sections. I might add other features, but that’s the core.
I’ve not started yet, but will later today. I have no QT Workflow set up, but with Plasma being my Desktop of choice whenever i need something stable, it’s to logical choice. I really don’t want this to be a electron app.
I’m also not sure what i’m getting into when dealing with Audio Playback in Linux. We’ll see i guess.

That’s it so far. I’ve got experience with similar tools on Windows, so have a decent idea of a featureset i’d want. Now i just need to figure out how to make a working Linux Application out of it, package it as a flatpak or such and we’re done here. I’m 100% sure that this will blow past december, but i just want to get started with it.

8 Likes

Really cool idea. I play somewhat leisurely too, keen to give your creation it a shot!

1 Like

Subscribed.

1 Like

No Code so far. Spend my hour today figuring out, that QT Creator won’t work on KDE Neon… Installed KDevelop and made a sample Project that runs.

I initialized the repo though:

So, first code tomorrow. Still undecided on what combination of toolkit, language and toolchain would be optimal. And i really want QT Creator to work. I think the GUI Designer is much more intuitive than KDevelop. Might just intall Manjaro for that.
Other than that it’ll be a lot of trying to figure out how to translate my Win32 UI knowledge into QT. I really hope i can make a sample app with one button that plays audio tomorrow.

2 Likes

Sooo, it’s not much, but i spend the evening catching up on the hour didn’t do on december first. Added the second from today, so i’m now even.

There’s code in the repo!!! So stoked.