A delicate problem

Hello, I have a bit of a problem on how to approach this and not waste my time and effort. So here is how it all started…

Few weeks ago a friend sends me his company site backup asking to keep a copy because his backup strategy is non existent. I sad fine, I’ll keep a copy but maybe you should ask for an admin account so if we need to restore we can do it with any web dev company. I asked if I can snoop around the backup and both the dev and he agreed. The thing is that the same developer is running a few websites for our parent company, and they brag about their custom CMS and having a software engineering degree instead of “self thought Wordpress drag and droppers degree”. I thought nothing of it at the time, but since hanging around this place I sort of wanted to look at it in a bit more detail.

Now, I’m no IT staff, and I’m by no means a developer, but I do dabble in PHP and automating things so very quickly I saw same (serious) problems.

1. Passwords are non-salted MD5 hashes
    There are four user accounts, one is the dev, and the other 3 are from some people who do content management, with roles “super admin”, “admin” and “user”. I managed to recover 3 out of 4 plaintext passwords in 4 different ways, Google search for MD5 reverse lookup, hashcat with dictionary attack, hashcat and mentalist with bruteforce attack, Facebook “about” page for some of the people involved (yes, 50% of the passwords are FirstnameBirthYear). The only one I couldn’t recover was the dev.
    Now what I definitely DID NOT DO is use TOR to try and log in to our parent company websites using these credentials and IT DEFINITELY DID NOT WORK :wink:. And when I didn’t do this, no one noticed a login from who knows where the exit node was.

2. There is no CSRF protection of any kind, I think. There is no 2FA of any kind, I’m sure