$9 C.H.I.P Based Embedded Systems?

So I have some experience programming micro controllers. Have done two courses covering programming and development thought process of Embedded Systems/IoT Devices. However, I have no experience working with actual hardware development. Only developing for existing hardware which has lead me to look at pre existing systems and in turn, the $9 C.H.I.P computer.

From what I can see, it has the hardware I need. Either Ethernet/Built in wifi along with built in Bluetooth. My project without giving much away requires local network access and in turn internet access. Ability to host local web pages and the like. Basic setup over bluetooth through a phone.

I’m just wondering if I’m going down the right track. I need hardware that can host a web server with local bluetooth support and some 24/7 daemons running. Or would I be better off going down the track of an Atmel Micro with no OS programming. Any suggestions would be great. I don’t need anything powerful, but the raspberry Pi 3 seems overpriced for what I’m looking at.

Cheers

Without much knowledge of what you are doing or about development, is the Bluetooth part necessary? If it is connecting to the local network then a phone can also do this with much better range via wifi vs Bluetooth. Just a minor suggestion.

There are tons and tons of boards out there nowadays that fit between the Chip and a Pi3, both in terms of performance and price. Olimex, FriendlyElec, and Orange Pi spring to mind. You can find pretty cheap devices with wifi+Bluetooth in the $10 to $20 range with similar or better specs than the CHIP. Not that you specifically need it, but you might see something that has more or all of the connections you want by default without having to buy extra parts which might drive up the cost. It would at least give you an idea of what is available before you invest in one ecosystem and realize another one would have been better or cheaper.