7800xt on Debian

I recently purchased a Ryzen 9 7900x bundle from Microcenter and have everything I need to start building my PC, except for the graphics card. I’m planning on getting either an ASRock 7800xt or a Sapphire 7800xt Nitro+. However, I have never used an AMD GPU on Debian before and would appreciate any advice on the matter. I came across this Debian ATI How to and was wondering if there’s anything else I need to know. I watched Wendell’s video about the 7600 on Pop OS and he had to set nomodeset before he was able to boot and pick up the correct driver via updates. Do you have any suggestions or tips? Thank you in advance!

amdgpu linux drivers are baked into the kernel for the general use case, and the 7800XT (being relatively new) requires kernel 6.3 or newer, whereas right now Debian 12 (bookworm) currently supports 6.1 out of the box. You will also want non-free-firmware for the various pieces of hardware that don’t release an open source firmware (including GPUs).

My opinion is that you would be better off with a distro that uses a newer kernel by default (Ubuntu 23, Fedora 38, Arch, etc), rather than trying to force Debian to use a newer kernel. Distro opinions tend to come off strong, but you choose what makes you happy.

Congrats on the new hardware, and best of luck!

3 Likes

Okay, I’ll check what kernel Debian testing is on and if it’s < 6.3 I will probably go with Fedora 38. Thanks for your reply.

1 Like

you can also install mainline kernel on debs without too much headache iirc, so maybe less drastic than distrohopping. Cant get to my debs system right now but its possible theres an experimental package

https://wiki.debian.org/HowToUpgradeKernel

that is what you need anyway. certainly kernel.org instructions also can makedeb so that would cover it in a pinch, too.

4 Likes

Thank you very much @wendell, I will that a shot before hopping to Fedora.