43" Dell UltraSharp U4320Q / Asus ROG Strix XG438Q / Gigabyte AORUS FV43U for office/dev/sysadmin?

Hi everybody,

I need to replace my 40" 4K LG since I’m having problems with it after 5 years of daily use. I looked at shops I can buy from and I can get my hands on:

• Dell UltraSharp U4320Q
  • ASUS ROG Strix XG438QR 43"
  • Gigabyte AORUS FV43U 43"

If I was a gamer, I would get Gigabyte AORUS FV43U and be done with it. But I’m a sysadmin/dev so most of the time I’ll be using web browser, terminal, VSCode under Linux with KDE Plasma dark theme. Based on my research Gigabyte AORUS FV43U has some issues with light text on dark background and that’s exactly what I’ll be looking most of the time at. Dell is not for gaming so in theory it should be the best for my use case after some googling it seems it has similar issues as Asus and Gigabyte so I might rather get Gigabyte that has overall better specs…

Could you please help me to choose?

Kind regards,

Paul

Welcome aboard @paul.v - enjoy yourself.

I’m guessing you aren’t really getting reponses cause it’s not clear what you’re asking. What are you looking for? Clarity? Brightness? Blacks? Density? Great packaging?

Isn’t 40" HUGE for your terminal / VSCode work? I couldn’t imagine going over 32" sitting at a normal desk setup.

Not really hands-on with any of your picks, but a 43 inch 4k display is exactly the same pixel density as a 21.5 inch 1080p monitor (four times the pixels and four times the area). I would expect any of your choices to display perfectly fine text at that pixel density.

I recently chose a 4k TV for mixed code, gaming, and video use (emphasis on coding, but I also wanted good HDR). At 43 inches the TVs I tried displayed excellent text quality. (Larger displays were more risky about text quality, although it is easier to get good HDR in a 50 inch TV).